Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

Reviews of The Dr Pepper Prophecies

Amazon.comAmazon.co.uk, Goodreads, LibraryThing

13 Jun 2014 BigAl’s Books and Pals 4*
‘I think this would be the perfect summer beach read.’

2 Jun 2014 Novel Escapes 4*
The Dr Pepper Prophecies main character has a voice crossed between Bridget Jones and Becky Bloomwood and she had me completely hooked from the first few pages.’

13 May 2014 Aisha Reads Books 3*
‘I liked Mel’s voice and the situations she got herself in were ridiculous.’

3 May 2014 Chicks That Read 5*
‘Once you start reading you won’t want to stop, you are immediately drawn to Mel and straight away you want to solve all her problems.’

21 Mar 2014 Readers’ Favorite 5*
‘I can honestly say that Jennifer Gilby Roberts is now at the top of my list of favorite chick lit authors along with Sophie Kinsella.’

19 Feb 2014 Chick Lit Central
‘Roberts has done an admirable job of updating Austen’s classic Emma for today’s chick lit sensibilities….  The book starts out with one of the funniest scenes I’ve ever read.’

6 Feb 2014 Chick Lit Plus 4*
‘This was seriously one of the funniest books I have read in a long time.’

30 Dec 2013 The Review Board 4*
‘A generous amount of humour keeps the story moving forward, as does the dramatics to which Ms. Parker is so very accustomed.’

20 Nov 2013 Voracious Reader 5*
‘Loved it! This was one of the most entertaining books I have read in a long time.’

17 Nov 2013 Sharlenefreelancewriter 3.5*
‘A delightful romantic comedy.’

20 Oct 2013 The Magnolia Blossom Review 3.9*
‘A good read for anyone that’s a fan of the genre.’

19 Oct 2013 The Bookish Owl 4*
‘With hilarious and true-to-life quotes, relatable characters and a very sweet plot, Jennifer Gilby Roberts has written a light and humorous tale.’

16 Oct 2013 Drue’s Random Chatter 5*
Jennifer Gilby Roberts has a fantastic literary voice.’

11 Oct 2013 Maryann Miller’s It’s Not All Gravy 
‘It is written in a smart, clever style, and I wanted to highlight the many funny moments and cute phrasing that made me smile. Had I done so, I would have highlighted half of the book.’

17 Sept 2013 Chick Lit Reviews & News 4*
‘The more I read this book, the more I loved the story and the characters. There is always something going on, and it was definitely relatable.’

15 Sept 2013 Geeky Girl Reviews 3*
 ‘…it is well written and it is funny.’

13 Sept 2013 Best Chick Lit 
‘Like the titular beverage, The Dr Pepper Prophecies is sweet, frothy and immediately rewarding. It may not count as one of your five-a-day, but you’ll feel a hell of a lot better for it afterwards.’

4 Sept 2013 Bibliophile Book Reviews 5*
‘Mel was my new Becky Bloomwood and I look forward to reading any new books that Jennifer puts out in the future. She is one of my new favorite authors.’

22 Aug 2013 Frothy Reads 4*
‘I felt that the main strength of this book is Mel’s commentary, told from her first person point of view it veers towards stream of consciousness at times and is very funny and sharp.’

17 Aug 2013 Meredith’s Rambles & Babbles 5*
‘From the moment I started reading this story I was hooked and I couldn’t put it down. I was having a bad day and feeling a little depressed at the time but this book made me laugh so hard!’

13 Aug 2013 Kuroneko Book Club 3*
‘People can’t change suddenly just because of one thing and people can’t change in one night. With Mel, it happens smoothly.’

2 Aug 2013 Danica Cannon 5*
‘This is one of the funniest and most original spins on a classic I’ve ever had the fortune of coming across.’

29 July 2013 ChickLit Pad 3.5*
‘Roberts pays homage to Jane Austen’s *Emma* while staying true to her own voice. Austen’s influence is seen throughout, but the author isn’t afraid to take a risk.’

6 July 2013 The Indie Bookshelf 4*
‘I loved The Dr Pepper Prophecies.  It’s an entertaining and satisfying book with a little romance and a whole load of girl power.’

4 July 2013 Badass Book Reviews 3.5*
‘Some of the scenes … are just so funny that tears ran down my cheeks.’

2 July 2013 Article 94
‘Mel Parker is a lovable misfit.’

30 Jun 2013 What Nikki Read 5*
‘I couldn’t put it down and read it so quickly. This author has a fantastic way with words and knows how to engage the reader.’

18 Jun 2013 Coull Critiques 3.5*
‘While this was highly predictable it was still enjoyable and just easy.’

13 Jun 2013 The Book Geek Wears Pyjamas 3.5*
‘I recommend this book to romance lovers who like a bit of dry humour.’

If you’ve reviewed The Dr Pepper Prophecies anywhere – thank you.  If your review isn’t linked to here, let me know about it so I can add it.

Advertisements

« The Dr Pepper Prophecies


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: