Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

Best Lines From The Dr Pepper Prophecies

on May 20, 2014

Part of the TDPP anniversary celebrations.  Posted at Maryann Miller’s It’s Not All Gravy.

~~~~

When I wrote The Dr Pepper Prophecies, what I wanted most was to make people laugh.  You can’t always manage that, because everyone has a slightly different sense of humour.  But many reviewers have commented that particularly scenes and lines in the book made them smile and sometimes howl with laughter.  So, I think I achieved my goal.

When Maryann reviewed it, she said, “I wanted to highlight the many funny moments and cute phrasing that made me smile.  Had I done so, I would have highlighted half of the book.”  Even in the more serious bits, some lines have managed to strike a chord with readers.  I’d like to share some of the best lines from the book:

The one most highlighted by readers:

“Chocolate is God’s way of saying sorry to women for giving them men.”

The one that captures the essence of the quarter-life crisis:

“I don’t know what I want,’ I say despondently.  ‘I only know that I don’t have it.”

The one that reveals the problem with the chick flick fantasy:

“Sometimes I think how much nicer it would be if my life were a movie.  Although, I’d prefer it to last longer than two hours.”

The one about the difficulties of explaining where babies come from:

“A thought occurs to me. ‘I don’t suppose your mother went in for safe sex lectures, did she?’ I ask.

I remember my mother trying to explain it to me.  The memory continues to surface no matter how hard I try to suppress it.  She began by explaining that babies start as seeds and every woman had a special place inside her to plant them in – sort of like a grow bag.  It went downhill from there.”

The one that one reviewer felt was deeply philosophical:

“There are too many hills in my life.”

The one Maryann liked the best:

“I’ve slipped into denial now.  I’ve always liked denial.  The sky is always blue and there’s never a queue at the post office.”

If you’ve already read The Dr Pepper Prophecies, do you have a favourite line?

2 responses to “Best Lines From The Dr Pepper Prophecies

  1. Hilarious quotes, I love them!

Leave a Reply

