Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

[Guest Post] My Book Deal by Amber Lindley

on May 8, 2014

Today, new adult chick lit author Amber Lindley tells us about how she won a contract with Harlequin.  Take it away, Amber.

~~~~

DSC_0294

As someone who hasn’t self-published or entered the publishing world by the traditional means, the prospect of releasing my first book is incredibly daunting.

 Then titled Confident Women, Girls’ Guide to Getting it Together was one of six winning manuscripts from romance publisher Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write (SYTYCW) contest held in conjunction with ebook community Wattpad. And I’ve got to be completely honest here about my reasons for joining Wattpad. I first became a member after reading about a user whose online story had been picked up by a publisher. Of course I expected that putting my work on the internet would lead to millions of views and a dream publishing contract when in reality, it took lots of hard work just to get one person to read it.

That was back in 2012, before I discovered my love for writing about strong female leads and romantic happy endings when Wattpad launched chicklit as a genre on their website. I felt that I’d found something I was good at and wrote Girls’ Guide to Getting it Together in the summer of 2013.

Later that year, I saw adverts for the SYTYCW contest posted on the website. Harlequin was running a bonus version of their annual GirlsGuide_finalcompetition for stories on Wattpad, looking for New Adult books to enter.

At first, I was unsure if my story fit into that category, but I did some research and found that my contemporary romance tale written in the first person POV of my lovable twenty-something heroine might be what they were looking for.

 Entry was simple enough. All I had to do was tag my story and allow the first chapter to be judged by the Wattpad team. From there, the top 25 entries were selected and I had to send my completed manuscript off to Harlequin, the first involvement I had ever had with a publisher.

Originally, there were supposed to be four winners who would win a publishing contract under Harlequin’s New Adult line but they ended up choosing six, two groups of three published as two ebook box sets.

This is my first professional venture into writing, so of course I’m a bit nervous about it, but I know that I’m incredibly lucky to be in this position and to be writing in a genre that I’m very passionate about.

NewAdutRomance Volume1Girls’ Guide to Getting it Together is available in the Harlequin E New Adult Romance Box Set Volume 1 with two other fantastic books by Jo Watson and Sarah White.

 Available from Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk

Find Amber on Wattpad and Twitter

Leave a Reply

