Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

The Glamourous Life of an Author – Planning a Giveaway

on March 9, 2014

This was written as a guest post for The Bookish Owl.

We all love getting stuff for free, don’t we?  And authors love getting publicity for our books.  So a giveaway is great for all of us.  But someone has to plan them.  And I really wish it wasn’t me.

It seemed like such a simple idea.  Look in my Amazon Also-Boughts and ask the authors I found there to join me in offering our books for free.  We’d all help publicize and so loads of people would find out about our wonderful (and very reasonably priced) novels.  Easy.

I just have to find their emails and contact them all, gather all the information together and create a post.  No, hang on, need to get universal links to take people to their own Amazon sites.  Scratch that, need to tell authors how to create those links.  Now set up the giveaway widget in Rafflecopter (apparently the standard in book giveaways).  Try to include this in the post.  WordPress.com won’t allow it.  Oh, crap.  But I can embed it into my Facebook page!  Everyone has Facebook, right?

Oh yes, need to tell people about the giveaway.  Email lots of book bloggers.  In moment of weakness, offer to do guest posts in order to plug giveaway at the end.  Now have to write seven guest posts in a week.  Worse still, they have to make people want to buy my book.  How about I just offer free chocolate?  Everyone likes that.

Okay, now the Rafflecopter widget has ended up on someone’s site before the giveaway has started, due to an over-enthusiastic social media manager.  Really wish I had one of those.  Eight people have entered a giveaway that is only live for the authors involved to check.  Will their entries be preserved if I stop it again?  No idea.  Have they shared the unborn giveaway with their friends?  No idea.  Will it go viral before it’s supposed to exist?  No idea.  Oh help.  Whose stupid idea was this anyway?  Oh right, mine.

I must have been doing something before I started all this.  What was it?  Oh yes, I was writing another book wasn’t I?  Like-what-authors-are-supposed-to-do.  How long until I can get back to that..?

Don’t forget to enter the Great Chick Lit Ebook Giveaway, 1-14 March 2014.

3 responses to “The Glamourous Life of an Author – Planning a Giveaway

  1. Cat Wilson says:

    Sounds like an idea for a new story… A novel idea as it were! Hope I’m not one of the eight who was too quick off the mark :-/

    learningwithcat.global2.vic.edu.au

Leave a Reply

