Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

[POLL] Cover Ideas for My New Book

on March 5, 2014

I’ve been playing around with covers for my new novella.  Because it’s a bit more serious than my previous work, I’m tempted to go with something different.  Then again, maybe it’s better to stick to my “brand”.

Here are some ideas I’ve had.  They’re just rough mock-ups, but I’d really appreciate opinions – on the types of images as much as anything.  Should it be an illustration like the others, a photo of a person, or something else entirely?

Blurb

Life has always gone smoothly for Jess, but then she got pregnant and it wasn’t just her breakfast that started going down the pan.  And now her baby has “fallen out” before she’s even started anti-natal classes.

As if sleep-deprivation wasn’t torture enough, Jess has a baby in hospital, new friends who seem determined to “broaden her horizons” and a fiancé she’d rather kick than kiss.  Will her most intimate relationship be with her breast pump?  Or with Neonatal’s resident single dad?

Cover-4  Cover Cover 3 copy Change-signCover-2

Don’t forget to vote for the title.  I’ve added another couple of options since I launched that poll, and you are welcome to suggest anything you think might fit.

Any thoughts?  Please leave a comment below.

To get emailed when I release this work, sign up for my mailing list.

9 responses to “[POLL] Cover Ideas for My New Book

  1. Mark Gardner says:

    I think you should stay away from the animated cartoon style you’ve used for your other work. if you stick with photo manipulation, it will definitely set this work apart from you other chick lit.

    I imagine a neonatal unit as a backdrop with Jess peeking in from a doorway.

  2. Mark Gardner says:

    Here’s another rough concept. I think the actress needs to look sadder.

  3. Mark Gardner says:

    I like this one the least, but here it is:

  4. I like both of the first two, although I think they would look better in colour. The baby footprints are a nice touch. Thanks for the designs!

  5. […] Please vote on the title and the cover. […]

Leave a Reply

