Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

On Writing

on December 3, 2013

The truth is, I’m not a natural writer.  In the world there are natural story makers, natural speakers and natural writers.  The natural speakers give speeches and motivational talks and the natural writers do non-fiction.  Those who are natural story makers and natural speakers are the ones who tell amazing stories around the camp fire or to their kids.  Those who are natural story makers and natural writers create the most incredible fiction.

Being a natural story maker only, like me, means that you easily create characters and plots but are quite happy for these to live in your head.  You don’t feel the drive to write them down as those who are also natural writers do.  I have characters who have been living in my head for years and will probably never make it onto paper.  These are very useful for memorable names on internet banking, but not a lot else.

I do go through phases when I emulate a natural writer, but they are too few and far between to be relied on.  When I wrote my first two novels, The Dr Pepper Prophecies and After Wimbledon, I was at points in my life where I had lots of free time and no responsibilities to speak of and could focus all my energy on getting the stories onto paper.  Now I’m faced with writing a third novel in very different circumstances.  I have a husband and toddler who demand my attention and I rarely have time and energy simultaneously.  This one will be a much bigger challenge than the first two, so forgive me if it takes a while to finish.

On the upside, I wrote 3000 words plus a couple of blog posts today, so maybe I’m going into another phase.  Here’s hoping!

4 responses to “On Writing

  1. Mark Gardner says:

    Just keep plugging away at it. I’m out of my writing cycle by writing my zombie story during the winter. I know I’ll finish it hopefully before the summer, since I want to do my normal summer routine. You’ll get there and we’ll all chee you on.

  2. Becky Monson says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I am not a natural writer. I’m also plugging along with my second book, with full-time mommy duties. It’s exhausting. Keep writing though, because I would be sad without your books. Good luck! xoxo

  3. Thanks! Going well in December so far. Trying for 1000 words a day and done it so far.

Leave a Reply

