Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

The Chick Lit Classics

on November 24, 2013

Jody at Jennifer Joyce Writes has rounded up the chick lit classics.  She reckons they are:

  • The Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella
  • P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern
  • I Heart series by Lindsey Kelk
  • Meet Me At the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan
  • The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger
  • Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

Of these, I must confess I’ve only read the first and the last.  Bridget Jones definitely deserves its place.  The Shopaholic series I’m less keen on.  Although I know it’s wildly popular, I actually prefer Sophie Kinsella’s stand-alone novels.  My favourites are Can You Keep a Secret? (the book that inspired me to write The Dr Pepper Prophecies) and the more recent Wedding Night.  I think a lot of it is just character-bonding, or lack thereof.  Becky Bloomwood just frustrates me.  I never even finished Mini Shopaholic.

I’m surprised not to see Marian Keyes on the list.  Who else do you reckon is missing?

3 responses to “The Chick Lit Classics

  1. Jan says:

    I do like Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe a lot but I think The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris is the best of Jenny Colgan’s! And I couldn’t stand the Shopaholic series either but I do love Twenties Girl!

  2. I really need to check out Jenny Colgan. I don’t think I’ve read any of hers.

Leave a Reply

