Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Women's Fiction/Chick Lit Author

How ‘The Dr Pepper Prophecies’ Came to Be

on October 3, 2013

I wrote The Dr Pepper Prophecies at the tender age of 20.  Scary, huh?  At the time I was on my gap year, having finished A-levels.  Strictly speaking it was my second gap year, as I’d gone to Quebec as an exchange student after my GCSEs.  I was in France taking lessons in French (oddly enough).  I’d signed up for mornings only, thinking that full days would be a bit much, so I had plenty of free time and needed something to do with it.

This was spring, but in the summer I was doing a week-long summer school in creative writing at Oxford University Summer School for Adults.  This is a lot less prestigious than it sounds, as all you have to do to get in is pay (it’s not cheap, but I wholeheartedly recommend it).  So, I decided I was going to spend my afternoons writing a novel.

I’d written plenty of stories over the years.  Much of that was fanfiction, in genres such as Lord of the Rings and the sci-fi show Farscape.  My experience of writing original fiction was limited.  As I recall, I first wrote a YA novel (which I will have to read back at some point, although I don’t think it was very good).

Then I picked up a copy of Sophie Kinsella’s Can You Keep a Secret?, which remains my favourite of her novels, and laughed my arse off.  I’d never liked books written in the first person before, and hadn’t written anything in that style, but I decided then and there to write a book like hers.

Before going to France, I was a temp in an insurance claims office, which was going downhill rapidly while I was there (nothing to do with me, I assure you).  I have to admit I was thinking of it when I wrote Mel’s workplace, although none of the people I worked with appear in the book (I promise).  The rest of the book is imagination.  I don’t have a lifelong best friend like Will, although when I read the book again before publication, I was struck by the number of similarities between him and my husband – who I hadn’t yet met when I wrote it.

The book is based loosely on Emma by Jane Austen.  There’s one really good reason for that: it was on the reading list for the creative writing class I was taking!  I hadn’t read it before, although I had read Pride and Prejudice, which I refer to several times in the book.  Like everyone in my generation (and a few others I think), I loved the BBC adaptation with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy.  One day maybe I’ll write my own version of that.

I wrote about two-thirds of the book in France, in about four weeks, and the rest scene-by-scene over a few months when I got back (I was working, so had less time).  I was tremendously proud to have completed a novel.  I still am.  I think it was my greatest achievement so far, although it’s been superseded since then.

Over the years, I spent a lot of time editing it.  I always planned to send it out to agents, but I was never happy with it.  Perhaps if I had it would have been published years ago.  Or perhaps I would just have a nice stack of rejection letters.  I suspect I’m better off publishing now.  Putting your work out there for people to read and criticise is not easy and I think I would have had a harder time coping with it at 20 than I do now at 30.

Anyway, it’s now out in the world for you to read.  I hope you like it.

The Dr Pepper Prophecies is available on Amazon.comAmazon.co.uk and other Amazon sites.

More posts about The Dr Pepper Prophecies

One response to “How ‘The Dr Pepper Prophecies’ Came to Be

  1. […] How The Dr Pepper Prophecies Came To Be […]

Leave a Reply

